Posted in Uncategorized

TEN GOOD READS (1)

These are ten books that I think everyone should read. They may not be popular like the Fifty Shades trilogy or Harry Potter series but they are very interesting and worth the while. (This intro is awful). Anyways they are in no particular order …


THE BIBLE

I know you are thinking I am a Christian. Yeah, I am. I remember the COZA incident, as well as other stories of unsuspecting Christians that have been conned by their ‘pastors’. The Bible is the word of God and as a Christian that should be the yardstick for you and not what your pastor says. Heaven and earth may pass but the word of God does not. So get a copy today (hard or soft). There are Bible applications in the Google Play Store and Blackberry App World.

A PURPOSE DRIVEN LIFE written by RICK WARREN

Everyone needs this book even though it was written by a Christian and based on the Bible. I think the forty days set aside is a very much needed time out from every other thing. Forty days of asking yourself one question- What are you on earth for? Never mind that you don’t discover it after the forty days. But your subsequent decisions would be geared towards finding the answer to this question and making it a reality.
THERE WAS A COUNTRY written by CHINUA ACHEBE

This was the second Chinua Achebe book I read. It was supposed to be a narration of the Nigeria-Biafra war and surrounding events. I don’t think Achebe wanted it to sound impersonal. One gets the feeling that he was expressing his disappointment at the failure of the Nigerian state. However, I do not recommend this book for people who are easily offended by ethnic sentiments or those who have given up on Nigeria. I liked the part where he talked of his childhood the most.

THE SECRET DIARIES OF MIRANDA CHEEVER written by JULIA QUINN

This was the first historical romance novel I ever read. This book caught my fantasy because the heroine was ugly; well she was definitely no beauty. Romance novels normally have gorgeous heroines with lovely features. I was just impressed and I really liked it. But, it still has the other features of the average romance novel

JANE EYRE written by Charlotte Bronte

I watched the movie first plus I am a fan of Michael Fassbender. So, I went to read the book. I loved it. Before you ask, I have read several classics like Pride and Prejudice, Tess of the D’Urbervilles. I am half way through Les Miserables and Wuthering Heights. So, I know what I mean. The end was kinda romantic.
This article continues in my next post. I didn’t give synopsis of any of the books and I didn’t really critic any of them either. These are basically great books, and I think that they should be read by everyone.

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

2 thoughts on “TEN GOOD READS (1)

  1. I’m also a christian and read the bible daily.

    I’m more of a classics freak. I have read Pride and Prejudice more than twice. I enjoy all Mark Twain, Oscar Wilde and George Bernard Shaw’s books. Then Arthur Conan Doyle, Jules Verne and Victor Hugo.

    But I will be trying The Firm (John Grisham).

    Thanks for sharing. Glad to find out a bibliophile like me.

    Like

So, what do you think?

