Posted in Uncategorized

TEN GOOD READS (2)

This article started in my previous post. I didn’t give synopsis of any of the books and I didn’t really critic any of them either. These are basically great books, and I think that they should be read by everyone. …

The first half

TAKADINI written by BEN HANSON

This book, for me, is one of the most interesting books ever. Set in a traditional African society, the book examines the discrimination the eponymous protagonist faces because of the beliefs prevalent there in. the book is rich with a lot of proverbs, and it recognises the values held in high esteem in the typical African society.

THE FIRM written by JOHN GRISHAM

The first John Grisham book I read was the Pelican Brief. I wasn’t too impressed until I read this, by then I had read A time to Kill, The Client and King of Torts. There is something about the protagonist of the novel that reminds me of Scofield in the Prison Break Series. It was intriguing and “unputdownable”

EYE OF THE BEHOLDER written by RUTH ANN NORDIN

Basically, romance novels preach a lot of sex after marriage. For people like me who hold chastity in high regard, I think someone who writes a romance novel and makes the character do the deed after marriage should be commended. I like the fact that the heroine was plain, and the hero was not exactly drop dead gorgeous and he was neither stinking rich nor cynical. It is a very believable story.

SAFER DEAD written by JAMES HADLEY CHASE

When this author was very popular, I was very young. So by the time I could actually read his books, they were no longer popular. He wrote basically mysteries and crime fiction. I read a couple, but the only one that just refused to get out of my mind was this one. I have guarded my copy jealously. Although I must admit that it is falling apart.

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING written by WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE

Basically, everyone should read one Shakespeare. It was really difficult for me to pick one. I hate books with tragic endings, so Hamlet, and Romeo and Juliet as well as Macbeth are out. I really loved Macbeth, though. Then there was Merchant of Venice and the Tempest, but I picked this one. The ending was extremely happy plus the title is really cool.

So this brings me to the end of the post, but if there is any book you think that everyone should read, please be kind enough to let me know. Laters!!!

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

2 thoughts on “TEN GOOD READS (2)

  1. Hi Ekaete,

    Thanks for the recommendations, I’m gonna try John Grisham’s The Firm. Will be sure to give you a feedback.

    I think you’ll enjoy Shakespeare’s “As you like it” and “Midsummer’s Night dream”. They are my favorite. Read them several times.

    Like

So, what do you think?

