Posted in RANDOM ACCESS MEMORY (RAM), Uncategorized

OF CRAVINGS AND SATISFACTION

“Who is more to be pitied, a writer bound and gagged by policemen or one living in perfect freedom who has nothing more to say?”
Kurt Vonnegut
CRAVINGS
PHOTO CREDIT : YUNISAKI

I feel guilty sometimes. Like when I am craving chocolates and cakes and ice creams at the same time.

And even guiltier when I give in to my cravings. But Is Satisfaction not the whole point of giving in?

But Satisfaction is not guaranteed. Maybe it is not always about chocolates and cakes and ice creams. Maybe it is a deeper kind of yearning that a binge cannot extinguish.  Maybe it is about uncontrollable eruptions of emotions or dormant feelings that refuse to awaken even in times of despair.

Or maybe it is that time that you feel like a blocked sink that refuses to be cleared by a plunger (ouch!)

It never feels good.

So  I try to channel these pent-up feelings into something else, like writing. They refuse to flow. It is like my Muse is waiting for some sort of appeasement. What more can I bring, if not a full inked pen and blank paper? (or a blank Microsoft Word Document). I wonder if this is it for me? Writer’s block?

So what if I have it all  the time? So what if my inspiration and ideas find it difficult to materialise into my dream work? I feel guiltiest at times like this. But I have to refuse to sacrifice my pride at the altar of an Unforgiving Muse. For how long will I be forsaken? For how long will this blank paper bear the brunt of a love unrequited? This Pen must rise again in defiance of my Muse.

Have you ever just not felt like writing? What has been the longest Period of your writer’s block? What’s that  indispensable piece of advice that got you started again? What would you rather do than give in to your cravings? Does writing have a therapeutic effect on you?

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

3 thoughts on “OF CRAVINGS AND SATISFACTION

  1. Have you ever just not felt like writing?
    YES! 😦

    What has been the longest Period of your writer’s block?
    Uhh it depends on the frustration level. A week of serious block feels longer than a month of procastination

    What’s that indispensable piece of advice that got you started again?
    Dunno who said it or where I heard it from, but a quote about how all great writers at some point feel self-doubt and hate their writing too

    What would you rather do than give in to your cravings?
    Why can’t i give in to my cravings (._.)

    Does writing have a therapeutic effect on you?
    Sometimes yeah. Other times, makes me more emotional. Like listening to sad music.

    Like

  2. Have you ever just not felt like writing?
    Yes, a lot of times. Sometimes, several days in a roll.

    What has been the longest Period of your writer’s block?
    Not so sure. But whenever I put my mind into making a creative blog post, in a max of 3 days I’ll come up with something I’m happy with.

    What’s that indispensable piece of advice that got you started again?
    Don’t be afraid to write about anything. Let writing be that scary thing you do everyday.

    What would you rather do than give in to your cravings?
    Sincerely, I always give in to my cravings. Even the ones I’m ashamed of.

    Does writing have a therapeutic effect on you?
    YES. It’s the main reason I write daily.

    BONUS TIP
    I swallowed my pride and sense of shame. It helped me to write and post my writings even when I’m not sure my grammar is ok or the story is worth publishing or it’s not too personal.

    Like

So, what do you think?

