Posted in THE CHRONICLES

MY FIRST TIME AT THE POST OFFICE

Till today, I still can’t explain why I have been to the Post Office once in my life. That was on the fourth of December, 2014. I went to post some letters. I was under the impression that it would be cheaper to send the letters with the packages via post. At least until the geeks figure out a way to send physical packages via e-mail, the post is here to stay. DHL or FedEx may have been faster, but the key word here is ‘cheaper’. Besides, it would be more convenient and I wouldn’t have to undergo the stress of the Lagos traffic, especially on the Island.

LETTER WRITING IS INDISPENSIBLE
POST A LETTER TODAY

 

Secondly, I have always wanted to have (I believe the term is rent a Post Office Box – PO Box) my PMB. Well, the reason is very lame. I like reading letters. Problem is nobody writes them any more. So, I thought I could probably get a PMB, then write letters to myself or get my friends to do it. Except that I wouldn’t be doing that anyway. It costs six thousand naira per year to maintain a PMB. My eyes widened in disbelief when I heard this. I think I would stick to electronic mails, thank you very much. The way it works is that you have to keep checking back at the same post office where you opened the P.O.B. So, that means where ever I go, I would always have to come back to the Unilag Post Office to check my mail. As much as I love Unilag, I don’t see that happening. Well, maybe I should keep an open mind.

PUT YOUR LETTERS IN HERE
PUT YOUR LETTERS IN HERE
WORLD POST DAY
WORLD POST DAY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The World Post Day is October 9. I took some miserable  pictures at/of the Post Office.

 

I hope you enjoy them.

What about you? Ever been to the Post Office? You have a PMB? You like reading letters? You get a lot of letters? When last did you write a letter?

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

So, what do you think?

