Posted in RANDOM ACCESS MEMORY (RAM)

REFLECTION: IT IS REALLY ABOUT CHOICES

Reflection
source: meetville.com

 

For the past few weeks, I have not put up anything here. First of all, online sites and blogs have been awash with reviews of the year 2014, and what to look forward to in 2015, or even why new year resolutions may not make the best way to achieve 2015. So, I don’t have a review of my life in 2014. Neither do I have resolutions for 2015.

In the past two weeks, I have found myself in a situation where I have had to manage people and things. I thought I was prepared. You know, I had been watching all along, and had been part of the process. I  made sure to play my role. I went the extra mile to do other things for the smooth running of the whole process. When, however, I was suddenly put in charge, it dawned on me that watching and taking part in a process are two different things.

Because there I had not been directly involved in a lot of things, limiting my interest to my role, I realised that I was kind of handicapped. With my little knowledge of watching, I was able to salvage the situation. Undoubtedly, things would have turned out better if I had been more hands on.

The beauty of the whole thing was that it made me realise a lot of things. Like, how really whatever we finally become is really the effect of our choices. I had the option of not managing, of letting others do as they pleased, or just letting go. But I decided, in spite of my inexperience, to really make a difference and correct certain mistakes that had been made. Like, how we underestimate the role people play because they are always there. If we were to walk in some other people’s shoes, some of us would not even be able to cross the streets. Like, how we think we know about a lot of things or people, when we know nothing at all. Like, how we think we are in control of everything, when everything largely depends on people around us, events beyond our control, and God’s infinite mercies.

So, I decided that I want to become a better person. That wherever I go, whomever I meet, whatever I do, I  want to make it better than it was I got there, I want to leave them better than I met them, and I want to do things like they have never been done before. That is not a new year resolution.

I just made a choice, the effect of which will transcend 2015.

P.S I just want to take time out to appreciate everyone: followers, commenters, supporters, friends, and all those who have made it possible for me to keep running this blog. Thank you so much. Your support made all the difference.

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

So, what do you think?

