Posted in ATTEMPTED POETRY

SOMEBODY’S BEEN PRAYING FOR ME

prayer                                                                                             source: hannahscupboard.com

Somebody’s been praying for me

Is it you?

How do you do it?

Why do you care so much?

How do you know what I need?

How are you certain the prayers will be answered?

Somebody’s been praying for me

And I want to know why.

 

 

Somebody’s been praying for me

Is it you?

I don’t even know you

I think you know me

I know you have seen me

I know that you are somewhere I have never been

I know I have never even met you

Do you love me?

I am humbled by this

You on your knees

I am angry too

Is this a mortgage?

Are you trying to protect your interest?

What sort of interest?

Somebody’s been praying for me

It is you

 

 

Somebody’s been praying for me

How do you do it?

Do you howl until God is deafened?

Do you screech until your throat is sore?

Do you sob out your throbbing emotions?

Do your lips move until they make no sound?

Are you moved to tears?

Do you speak in other tongues?

Do you sing out loud?

Are you awed in His Presence?

Do you tremble when you worship?

Do you see me each time you close your eyes?

Is there a bible verse apportioned to me?

Do you have my picture on your altar?

Do you have an altar?

Is it by your bedside or in your closet?

Or your balcony? Or even your bathtub?

Somebody’s been praying for me

I still don’t know how you do it.

 

 

Somebody’s been praying for me

Why do you care so much?

What am I to you?

What could I ever possibly give you?

Do you need me for something?

How important is my well-being to you?

Would this make me like you?

I don’t even know you

Am I wrong?

Are you praying for me because you care about me?

Or are you praying against me?

Are you asking that I be consumed by fire?

Are you binding and casting me?

Am I your enemy, your nemesis, your doom?

Is it a matter of choosing between our lives?

Do I have to die for you to become successful;?

Am I an enemy of your father’s house?

Am I a familiar spirit?

Am I a demonic stronghold?

Or do you just care about me?

Somebody’s been praying for me

Maybe you really care

 

 

Somebody’s been praying for me

How do you know what I need?

How do you know I am lonely?

And i just need to talk to someone?

How do you know I need to be forgiven?

Because my heart thinks terrible things

How do you know I need to be blessed?

Because you pray for me not to walk in the counsel of the ungodly

How do you know that I need wisdom?

Because you pray for me to fear God

How do you know that I need to come into the knowledge of God?

Because you pray for the eyes of my understanding to be opened

Because you pray that the Counsellor should teach me everything

How do you know that I wrestle with my flesh and my desires and my lustful passions?

Because you pray that I should not reject the grace of God.

But again, how do you know I am a principality

Because you bind me and cast me

You call on the Consuming Fire to engulf me

Somebody’s been praying for me

How else can I explain it?

 

 

Somebody’s been praying for me

How are you certain that you prayers will be answered?

Is your faith bigger than a mountain?

Are God’s ears hanging in front of your lips?

Does God owe you anything?

What sort of confidence do you have?

Are you in some sort of relationship with Him?

I hope you are not disappointed

Elijah and the Prophets of Baal

Will God answer by fire?

Or in a still small voice

Will he turn water to wine?

Will he scatter his enemies?

Will he slay me?

Will he have mercy on me?

Will he forgive me?

Will he give me another second chance?

Somebody’s been praying for me

I hope God is listening

 

 

Somebody’s been praying for me

It is you

Somebody’s been praying for me

I still don’t know how you do it

Somebody’s been praying for me

Maybe you really care

Somebody’s been praying for me

How else can I explain it?

Somebody’s been praying for me

I hope God is listening

Somebody’s been praying for me

I just want to know why

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

4 thoughts on “SOMEBODY’S BEEN PRAYING FOR ME

  1. That’s awesome and Who’s the person praying for me?
    Do I need to know?
    Am I gonna ask of how the person does it?
    Should know how am I to such person?
    Against me or pleading on my behalf?
    Out of what is the person really doing it?
    Do I need to know?
    All I can say is Pray in the Lord’s name
    To answer me and help me
    To be fulfilled and live this life well.

    SOMEBODY’S BEEN PRAYING FOR ME AND AM GRATEFUL

    Liked by 1 person

So, what do you think?

