Posted in TALL TALES

THE CHOOSING

I call Heaven and Earth to witness against you today: I place before you Life and Death, Blessing and Curse. Choose life so that you and your children will live. And love God, your God, listening obediently to him, firmly embracing him. Oh yes, he is life itself, a long life settled on the soil that God, your God, promised to give your ancestors, Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

Deuteronomy 30:19 – 20      The Message (MSG)
the choosing
source: businessnewsdaily.com

 

He will come like a thief in the night! Repent, before it is too late. Rapture is coming soon…’

It’s 7:36am. Today is a Tuesday. And like every other week day, this middle-aged woman is standing at the roundabout preaching about the second coming of Jesus. Sometimes, I pretend that I am looking for something in my bag, so I can listen to her talk about a God that loves me enough to take the human form to die for me. At exactly 7.43am, she invites those willing to give their life to God to say the prayer. I know the prayer by heart. I mutter it as her voice recedes into the distance. It doesn’t matter because tomorrow, I will say it again. It doesn’t matter at all.

***                                                                                                                                                   ***

‘What does this mean? She can’t be normal?’

‘Mrs Mba, medically speaking, there is not much that can be done. It is a good thing that this was discovered early. With proper management, attention and care your daughter may flourish beyond expectations.’

I turn to my husband. ‘Did you hear that?’

I lose track of what the doctor is saying. I follow my husband absent-mindedly into the car. My husband is talking.

‘She is taking to the potty training faster than we expected. Thank God for little mercies.’

I shake my head. ‘Afam, listen to yourself. Mercy? What about the seizures? Last week it was pneumonia, last year we needed to get hearing aids, a few months back we had to completely change her diet because of her gastrointestinal issues, and there is her heart to consider.’

‘Babe…’

‘No. I don’t have a life any more.  You asked for time. I gave you one year. You extended it to the third. We have done it your way. Now, let’s try mine.’

‘Babe, please. Let’s give her a chance. I love petite Laide, faulty chromosome 21 and all. She is a part of us.’

‘Agreed, but we can’t deal with her. I have looked at some of these foundations. They will take proper care of her there.’

‘I can’t do that. ‘

‘Oh. Really? I thought we agreed to maintain a united front?’

‘What you are suggesting is cruel. I won’t do it. So, you will give her up and just forget she exists? What is wrong with you? Where is your conscience and your faith?’

I fold my arms. ‘I don’t think I want to believe in a God who would do something like this. When everything falls apart, I don’t want to know.’

I walk away, hoping he will call me back. Expecting him to beg me to see reason, promising to check out the foundations. He doesn’t . I hear him speak.

‘Then, you have chosen. I will have my lawyer contact you.’

There can only be one way to feel if you are left behind after rapture. That’s how I feel right now.

***                                                                                                                                                   ***

He will come like a thief in the night! Repent, before it is too late. Rapture is coming soon…’

It’s 7:36am. Today is a Wednesday. And like every other week day, this middle-aged woman is standing at the roundabout preaching about the second coming of Jesus. Today, I don’t pretend that I am looking for something in my bag. I stop and listen to her talk about a God that loves me enough to take the human form to die for me. At exactly 7.43am, she invites those willing to give their life to God to say the prayer. I know the prayer by heart. I say it with the last of my resolve. It matters because tomorrow I will not say it again. It matters because I choose life.

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

So, what do you think?

