Posted in RANDOM ACCESS MEMORY (RAM)

MY BEST COLOUR AND WHY: ON A MORE SERIOUS NOTE

“Has anyone by fussing in front of the mirror ever gotten taller by so much as an inch? All this time and money wasted on fashion—do you think it makes that much difference? Instead of looking at the fashions, walk out into the fields and look at the wildflowers. They never primp or shop, but have you ever seen color and design quite like it? The ten best-dressed men and women in the country look shabby alongside them.”

Matthew 6: 27 – 29 MSG

So, today on the TLC whatsapp group – the Literary Cafe – a group of literary minds founded in 2016 in the Nigerian Law School, Bwari Campus, we were given a task. We were to talk about our best colours and why we chose them. We were also to collate the opinions of our friends, family etc. So, I am so tempted to just copy some of the reactions of the members of TLC and paste it. It’s a very attractive idea.  But I don’t think I am supposed to do that. For now. You can find it here

So, what’s my best colour? A sixty-four thousand dollar question in the long run. Just kidding.

Being a law graduate, I have worn the white and black uniform for roughly half a decade. Seeing that this would automatically form the bulk of my wardrobe, one of them should be my best colour, no? I answer in the negative.

Then as a law undergraduate, there is this thing where you break the law without actually breaking the law. So I invested in all shades of colours between white and black – milk-white, off white, cream, black, bluish black, ash, light ash, grey, polka dot white and black, white and black stripes, navy blue – some could be mistaken for black. My best colour? None of the above.

Then I used to like Nikki Minaj’s pink ensemble. So when I saw her pink Lamborghini, I started thinking of pimping my dad’s Peugeot. I had a pink phase, got pink glasses etc. That was overboard. Pink is not my best colour. In fact I can count how many pink stuff I have.

Then, I think my yearbook in Secondary School has blue. Well, understandable, our uniform was blue, and my glasses were tinted blue. Presently still tinted blue. Does this make it my best colour? Definitely not.

Let’s just go straight to the point. I don’t actually have a best colour. Let alone have some awesome reason for loving the colour. I mean, when I see things like ‘I love blue because the sky is blue. I feel the deep connect with nature. I am inspired by nature…’ I go

I dey hail
Two gbosa for you

Lool! I couldn’t resist……

 

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

2 thoughts on “MY BEST COLOUR AND WHY: ON A MORE SERIOUS NOTE

So, what do you think?

