Posted in TALL TALES

MISSION FAILED! ABORT MISSION! REPEAT! ABORT MISSION!

The Woman

Then you must protect me from the foxes, foxes on the prowl, Foxes who would like nothing better than to get into our flowering garden.

songs of solomon 2:15 The Message (MSG)
wonam with spy glass
source: Famousinyourfield.com

My body stiffens as my husband comes in. I am saved from any conversation with him by my ringtone.

‘Hello?’

The bed sinks with his weight. He is a very big man.

‘Yes. This is Mrs Ale – Green.’ My husband’s uneven breathing distracts me.

‘Yes?’ My husband turns his back towards me.

‘Okay. I understand.’ The phone call continues for another two minutes.

I get up from the bed softly. My husband does not stir. I tip toe across the room moving towards the door. The LED light from his phone blinks. I tip toe back to his side of the bed. He stirs. I bite my lower lip in frustration. I stay still for another thirty seconds. I finally decide to retreat. When I get to the door, I change my mind. With all the courage I can muster, I tread softly towards the dresser on his side of the bed. I sweep his phone of the table replacing it with mine.

His eyes fly open. I put his phone under my armpit and pretend to tuck him in. His eyes seem foggy with sleep. I drop a quick kiss on his forehead and on the corner of his mouth. He smiles drowsily back at me and returns to his sleep.

I let out my breath. That was very close. I move to our adjoining bathroom and begin my spy mission. I know my husband’s password. At least, I think I do. Wait a minute. The sly fox changed his password.

Defeated, I find my way to the bedroom only to find my husband sitting up with his arms folded waiting for me.

I hold the phone with my hands in front of me. ‘Dotun, I can explain…’

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

One thought on “MISSION FAILED! ABORT MISSION! REPEAT! ABORT MISSION!

So, what do you think?

