Posted in PERFECTLY LEGAL, STRICTLY BLACK AND WHITE

#DEARASPIRANTTOTHEBAR, ‘KEEP AT IT EVEN WHEN IT IS NOT MAKING SENSE’

MyBarFinalsTestimony is brought to you by the MCQ APP in conjunction with Ekaete Hunter. 

Name: Oyedotun Ayokunnu Adeola

Campus: Yola Campus (First Class), Director General’s Prize for First Class Students

University: University of Ibadan, Second Class Honours, Upper Division (2.1)

About: My name is Oyedotun Ayokunnu, I am the sixth child of seven children. I’m currently serving in Ogun State. I can be reached at Aayokunnuoyedot@yahoo.com.

OYEDOTUN AYOKUNNU IN HER WIG AND GOWN
SOURCE: OYEDOTUN AYOKUNNU

When law school posting came out, and I saw Yola campus I was sad, little did I know it was destiny calling me. I went to the campus ‘unprepared’ because i met people who had read up to the 6th week and I did not know the topic for week 3. But the rest is history, it all turned out fine eventually and I’m hoping this story will encourage somebody today.

WHAT WAS YOUR STUDY ROUTINE LIKE?

Knowing yourself is the first key to finding a study routine. If you can’t read at night or if you find it difficult to stay up for a long time, don’t force it,  just make sure you maximise your day time.

My study routine wasn’t so hectic, I just put in more effort than I did in my undergraduate days. I learnt to read from morning till evening only to stop to eat and sometimes to take a little nap ( because I find it difficult to stay up after 10:00pm). I slept a lot and I read a lot.

There were days I could not make this reading routine, what I did was to make sure I read every day no matter how little it seems. Although there were days I didn’t read at all. I adopted the slogan ‘no matter what you do, don’t stop reading, don’t stop praying.’

The test for how much I had  read was how much I knew and this I was able to do by solving past questions as if I was in the exam hall.

I didn’t like walking up to lecturers, so I usually discussed grey areas with colleagues that knew better and it helped me a lot because they always have a more user friendly way of explaining topics.

SHOULD I FORM MY NOTES OR SHOULD I READ FROM TEXT?

I formed my notes for all the courses in law school from week 3- week 20. In fact my friend and I got a nickname in law school ‘team note’ because we formed our notes painstakingly. The funny thing is I never read those notes. I read from text whenever I wanted to read because I felt I might have missed something when I was making the notes.

 I cannot advise you not to form notes because our lecturers usually told us forming notes would eventually pay off one day (maybe it did). But for me, at a point, it was like the notes were wasting my time but I didn’t stop. What I can say is this- if you cannot form a full note ( maybe you are a slow writer like me), you can jot to ensure you are well prepared for the next class.

SOURCE: GROUP H MEMBERS
SOURCE: GROUP H MEMBERS

HOW DID YOU DEAL WITH YOUR FEAR?

Words cannot describe how scared I was for law school and for bar finals. There were days it felt like I hadn’t read anything because I could not remember what I had read and exam was very close, there were days I cried, there were days I was discouraged.

But I had friends who encouraged me a lot. They gave me testimonies of people who had gone ahead of me and that they believed I could do it too. My fear pushed me to read and pray. And their encouragement gave me strength to go on when it was getting tough.

Then I challenged myself too,  I pushed myself beyond what I thought was my limit, I forced myself to read topics I thought I could never understand and  when I was able to understand it, I had more confidence to forge ahead.

HOW DID YOU FIND TIME TO READ OR MANAGE YOUR TIME?

Finding time to read in Yola campus wasn’t so hard; our lectures ended 12: 30. There was no side attraction. I went out of campus a few times.

DID YOU HAVE SOCIAL ACTIVITIES?

No, I did not. That can be attributed to the campus I was in. But I tried to have fun on my own, I watched movies a lot especially after reading from morning till evening ( my roommates can attest to that) and I played games a lot too. In fact I realised I comprehended faster after playing a game or watching a movie.

What was the plan during externship?

I used my externship to read a lot. Especially the chambers attachment. Although I wish I hadn’t spent all my externship reading.

HOW DID YOU ANSWER QUESTIONS?

There is no hard and fast rule about answering questions, I read past questions and marking scheme a lot, so I got used to the marking scheme method of answering questions and made sure that anytime I was solving past questions, I tried as much as possible to make my answers as nearly as possible the same as the marking scheme.

WHAT WOULD YOU HAVE DONE BETTER?

I am grateful for everything I did during my Law school days. I didn’t think I was going to read as much as I did. I just wish I had engaged in more activities e.g presentation, mock trials, I wish I had asked more questions in class etc.

WHAT ARE YOU GRATEFUL FOR?

I am grateful for a lot of things. I’m grateful to God for posting me to Yola Campus against all odds. I’m grateful to God for the lecturers we had in the campus especially our Chaplain who took it upon himself to make sure we did well both at bar finals and spiritually too. I’m grateful to God for the friend He gave me on campus, we read together, prayed together, ate together and encouraged ourselves whenever we were at a low point.

Just put in your best for law school, don’t be discouraged, and don’t underestimate your ability. Keep at it even when it is not making sense. Try to enjoy what you are reading make it interesting for yourself. Challenge yourself to do the things you thought you could not do. You might feel overwhelmed at a point it is normal it only suggests that you have been trying, give it time it will pass or find friends that will motivate you.

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

So, what do you think?

