Posted in STRICTLY BLACK AND WHITE

#DEARASPIRANTTOTHEBAR, “DO NOT TAKE ANY DETAIL FOR GRANTED”

Name: Ebizi Eradiri

Bio: Ebizi Blessing Eradiri is a graduate of Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island with a cumulative grade point average of 4.75 on a 5 points scale which earned her first class honours and she emerged the only first-class graduate in her set.

She got a number of awards and they are:

  1. Overall Best Graduand, Faculty of Law;
  2. Overall Best Graduand, Niger Delta University;
  3. Best Female Student in Law;
  4. Overall Best Female Student;
  5. Best Graduand in Law of Arbitration;
  6. Customary Court of Appeal, Bayelsa State Award for Best Law Graduand;
  7. Dean’s Prize for Best Graduating Law Student.

She attended Nigerian Law School, Lagos Campus, where she bagged another first-class honours and received the Director General’s Prize for Attaining First Class Honours.

She is currently an Associate at Templars.

Ebizi Eradiri in her wig and gown

STRATEGIES I EMPLOYED

  1. I split my reading time to make reading less stressful and more efficient.
  2. I assigned 30 minutes daily for studying my Rules of Professional Conduct and drafts respectively. This enabled me know RPC back to back and master my drafts.
  3. I read before classes and jotted virtually everything said in class.
  4. I meditated on what I read in every reading session to ensure I assimilated and was able to recall them.
  5. I discussed academics with people and played with rules, principles, drafts and authorities.
  6. I made chips (brief bullet points) for all topics.
  7. I had my personal list of drafts for all courses and I ticked them off as I practiced and mastered them. This made me more accountable as I knew my outstanding drafts at every point in time.

HURDLES I SURMOUNTED

Ebizi Eradiri
Ebizi Eradiri
  1. Psychological Trauma: I lost my best friend and reading mate of 7 years while we were in Law School together. I practically lost my mind, and I wanted to defer my admission but with the help of God, Mrs. James and some friends, I was able to pull through one day at a time.
  2. Health challenges: Due to the long hours in Lagos Campus and the uncertainty of break time coupled with the rule against eating in class, I developed ulcer and this really affected me in Law School. The fact that I could not make my own meals due to Law School’s policy, exposed me to typhoid and food poisoning. I also treated malaria a couple of times due to the host of mosquitoes in the school premises.
  3. Eating Out: I did not grow up getting used to eating out, but I had to do this while in Law School due to Law School’s policy prohibiting students from cooking. This was very tough for me, especially when the ulcer issue came up.
  4. Poor Accommodation: It was my first time staying in a hostel and I was compelled to cope with the poor accommodation state in the general hostel and had to bear all the inconveniences that comes with hostel life.
  5. The fear of Bar Part II: I never felt the biggest fear of many Bar aspirants. I prayed to God never to experience it, and I never did. This is a major highlight for me.

MISTAKES I MADE

  1. Trying to form notes for all the topics. I have never been the note forming type and I initially thought forming personal notes was the only way to get a first class. I spent the whole of first term doing this and it impeded my reading pace, ate into my sleeping time and made reading before my next classes impossible. However, after I discussed this challenge with some of my mentors, I realised making personal notes different from class notes was not compulsory.
  2. Trying to read all topics in textbooks in addition to my comprehensive class notes. This consumed my time, ate into my sleep time and stressed me up. I wasted first term and a part of second term before I realised there was a smart way of still covering up.
  3. Inadequate Sleeping. I joked with my six hours sleep in a bid to read more. This made me break down. I apparently learnt the bitter way.
  4. Past Questions: I did not start preparing for theory past questions early enough because I wanted to complete my three readings. I ended up doing a sort of crash preparation with past questions.

REGRETS

  1. My performance in my first two snap tests were terrible. I would have told myself to study each day like the following day would be snap test.
  2. I would have studied with the mindset that I would never have the time to go over any topic or area again and again.
  3. I would have gotten separate draft books for each course from day one.
  4. I wouldn’t have wasted my first semester trying a new reading pattern and forming notes.
  5. I wouldn’t have struggled with reading when I was sleepy, and I wouldn’t have joked with my 6 hours sleep time.
  6. I wouldn’t have gotten bothered when I was behind my course work. I ended up wasting my time being bothered and beating myself for not meeting my targets.
  7. I would have been more health conscious and avoided the three times I got admitted in the Law School Clinic and a Hospital.

WITH THE BENEFIT OF HINDSIGHT, IF I HAD TO TALK TO MYSELF WHEN I WAS RESUMING AT THE NIGERIAN LAW SCHOOL, I WOULD HAVE TOLD MYSELF:

“Ebizi, believe in yourself better, try your best to stick to study plans but never get disturbed when you are behind your reading targets, never doubt God about getting a first class in Law School for any reason and be more spiritually sensitive.”

FINAL WORDS

Do not let the common notion of the almightiness of Bar Finals overwhelm you. Do not be afraid, do all you need to do and trust God for the best. The race is not for the swift and the battle is not for the strong. It is just God that shows mercy. Be more spiritually sensitive and do not take any detail for granted. Study like you will not pray and pray like you will not study. Do not read selectively and do not overlook easier topics. Aim for perfection and Bar Finals will be your easiest exam

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

One thought on “#DEARASPIRANTTOTHEBAR, “DO NOT TAKE ANY DETAIL FOR GRANTED”

So, what do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.