Posted in RANDOM ACCESS MEMORY (RAM)

Àlejò: Crossing Times by Wole Olayinka

Source: Africa.com

I should open this book review with a confession. I read the story before it became a book, and when I read the book again, I couldn’t bring myself to put it down until I finished it. I mean, I had a few breaks, because adulthood, but I generally picked it up after the breaks at the speed of light.

I should also add that Wole is a very expressive writer who creates characters that have depth. For example, see what he did with Laaroye and Salako. You cannot help but like them. When I think about both of them, I think I have a full picture of the personalities that Wole tried to create. I don’t have to assume or fill any gaps, because Wole’s portrayal of them is quite rich.

I love the story – the fusion of sci-fi and Yoruba folklore. It looked so good when it was in draft form, and even much better now as a completed story. But I have so many questions. Why did Ileri’s grandmother fail? Don’t we deserve to know why? Why did the second chance go to her granddaughter? Why did they even get the first chance in the first place? Why did the Prince die such a needless death? I would have preferred a love triangle – Ileri and the Prince in the past, then Ileri and Nachi, in the present. Or maybe this is the side effect of watching Kdramas.

If you have been following my book reviews, you should know that I try to avoid spoilers. If this is your first time, you are welcome indeed. What I can however tell you is that it is a great book. At first, you are wondering who all these characters are and how they are connected. But as you flip each page, you see that Wole has done a very good job of connecting all the dots – Ileri’s link to Esubiyi, Bantale’s simultaneous disappearance with Ileri’s, Elemii’s relevant and mysterious death and so on and so forth. There are some things that you could miss if you are not careful. How exactly did Ileri “succeed” in her mission. It just felt like it was mentioned in passing that she was asked to keep the ansia seeds on her at all times.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Wole’s Àlejò: Crossing Times. It is not a lengthy read. It is a well written story and its ends on a very happy note (I hate sad endings so much). Highly recommend for anyone who loves fiction – particularly sci-fi and african literature.

Author:

A world changer who tells the stories that deserve to be told. Fiction may sometimes be real.

So, what do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.